Posts Tagged ‘download’

‘With Thanks’ is the latest single from Sydney indie-rockers Rockets and is available for free download from the Mucho Bravado band camp page (you can also download their other single ‘Toad’ from their own bandcamp page for free too!).

Read Full Post »

If you’re looking for some new local music and don’t know where to start, try having a search on Bandcamp. It’s a great site that more and more bands are using to sell their music. Individual tracks or full EPs or albums can be posted and put at any cost (including free!) that the band would like. You can browse through artists or search by tags like location or genre….which brings us to the point of this post.

A Brisbane search will bring up a few pages of bands (some known and some unfamiliar names) from Brisbane. Likewise, you can do a search for a different city, state or country. Most of the music is pretty cheap when it’s not free, and it’s a great way to support independent artists. Need to recommendations on where to start?

  • Hunz is pretty much the king of Brisbane artists on Bandcamp, with practically all of his releases being able for download. You can also get some of his chip tunes stuff there too.
  • Alan Boyle’s ‘Oxygen’ EP is available for download for only $3 (or more if you like), which I think is a complete steal.
  • Massai’s latest release is available here – I think they’re mainly releasing this digitally so this is likely to be the only place people will be able to get this

There’s also a crapload of stuff from Montpelier, Ed Guglielmino and Blunt Instrument.

Read Full Post »

A fantastic compilation of local Brisbane artists. For download click here, or befriend Mucho Bravado on Facebook.

“For years, Mucho-Bravado has been nurturing artists, helping them find their path into the music industry or just simply complimenting their talents with a strong support foundation.

Based in Brisbane, Australia, Mucho-Bravado is an independent agency offering musicians marketing and publicity representation.”

Track listing:

  1. Tara Simmons – I Cannot Be Saved
  2. The Boat People – Echo Stick Guitars
  3. Ran – Revolutionary
  4. Hungry Kids of Hungary – Let You Down
  5. Ball Park Music – Sea Strangers (I Don’t Really Know You)
  6. Drawn From Bees – Bus Now
  7. Edward Guglielmino – Settle Down With Me
  8. Dan Parsons – Run With Me
  9. Timothy Carroll – Danshyttan

Read Full Post »

Free Download!

Sup Pop Summer Sampler 2009


(don’t be fooled by the link name – it’s not a virus or anything dodgy like that!)

Yes, the website is pretty atrocious and flourescent, but the free download is well worth it.

You can never go wrong with any music that Sub Pop releases. From Nirvana to the Shins, the label has managed to strike gold with each release.

Track Listing:

1. Vetiver – Strictly Rule
2. Handsome Furs – I’m Confused
3. Mark Sultan – Hold On
4. Red Red Meat – Gauze
5. Obits – Pine On
6. The Vaselines – Son of a Gun
7. Fleet Foxes – Mykonos
8. Iron and Wine – Belated Promise Ring
9. Tiny Vipers – Dreamer
10. Zak Sally – Why We Hide
11. Fruit Bats – My Unusual Friend
12. Pissed Jeans – False Jesii Part 2
13. Grand Archives – Silver Among The Gold
14. Flight of the Conchords – Hurt Feelings


Read Full Post »